HomePC relatedTabletsASUS MEMO Pad 7 Model ME572C Review Log in
A photo of the October 2014 model of Asus Memo Pad 7 taken with its front camera - a selfie of itself that shows the selfie of itself!

A photo of the October 2014 model of Asus Memo Pad 7 taken with its front camera – a selfie of itself that shows the selfie of itself!

I gave my Google Nexus 7 (2012) Tablet to my wife so she could use it while in America for our daily Skype visits. For the past feew weeks I searched for a new tablet which had all the same features as the Nexus 7 2013 model and was yet an improvement on it. I found exactly what I was looking for totally by surprise at the Kojima Electric Store in Niigata City — the Fall 2014 version of Asus Memo Pad 7 which I was told just came out for sale this month, October 2014! The model number is ME572C. It’s not the same model as the one talked about on http://www.engadget.com/2014/08/01/asus-memo-pad-7-and-8-review/ which was given a so so rating. The photo on that page shows rounded corners on the tablet. The one I bought has square corners as you can see from the photo. It’s so new at the time of this post, I can’t even find a case that fits it! I may have to wait a few more weeks.

ASUS Memo Pad 7 2014 Autumn

ASUS Memo Pad 7 2014 Autumn

What I was looking for in a new tablet and what I got:

  • A high definition screen of 1200 x 1920 pixels
  • Good stereo speakers. The Asus Memo Pad 7 2014 has speakers on the top and bottom of the tablet
  • MicroSD support — something the Google Nexus series does not provide. More storage for low cost!
  • Fast CPU. This one has an Intel Atom 1.8 Ghz processor
  • Thin and lightweight
  • At least 2 gigabytes of RAM
  • Good cameras. The front facing is 2 megapixels and the rear 5 megapixels

I think the ASUS Memo Pad 7 2014 is an improvement over the Nexus 7 2013 in every way. Moreover, it has a feature Nexus does not provide – expandable storage! Nexus 7 2013 was rated the best Android tablet by CNET.com! If they rated Nexus 7 the best, the ASUS Memo Pad 7 2014 must therefore be the very best tablet PC with the most bang per buck available at the time of this post, Oct. 27, 2014. When you figure that the Google Nexus 7 models, and the ASUS Memo pad were all built by the same company, if the first two were good, the last must be even better! I think Google missed the boat by not sticking with the 7 inch model this year.

The price with tax was 28,000 yen or about $280 US – not much higher than what I hoped to pay for. I bought a 32 gigabyte micro SD card to expand its storage for only 2000 yen or $20 US more at another store. I was thrilled with the overall price considering the Nexus 9 would have cost me a great deal more at 48,000 yen with only 16 gigabyte storage and probably only half of that usable. And I really didn’t want to carry around a big tablet anyway.

The buttons are easy to push.

Google Earth loads without jerking motion.

The photos I took with it and posted on Facebook the last two days have been very good in my opinion.

The bottom line: I am very pleased with its performance and quality for the price I paid. I’m using it right now in editing this post.

I was also interested in the Nvidia Shield with the fast Tegra K1 CPU, but it turned out to be too expensive in Japan and available only by special order. And I was interested in the Samsung Galaxy S Tab. Though it has a lovely display, the price was more than I was willing to pay. With tax it would have been about the same as the soon to come Nexus 9, and I would have gone with the Nexus 9 had I not found the ASUS Memo Pad 7.

I’m writing this post not because I want you to buy the ASUS Memo Pad 7, but to attract your attention to this web site. :-) I have far more important things to say on it than just talking about my new tool (or toy if you want to call it that). I want you to know about who is really running the world and how to be free of the bondage they have placed on us the people.

Be Sociable, Share!

About James Arendt

Born in 1950 and raised in Chicago Illinois, USA.
Served in the USAF from 1970 in San Antonio, Texas, Biloxi Mississippi, Sacramento California and Asaka, Japan and honorably discharged in 1974.
Became a full time missionary for Christ and served in Russia, China and Japan for 44 years and counting.
Lives by faith in God's supply with no fixed job or income.
More about the webmaster.

I need your help to keep this website going! I would like to upgrade to better and faster web-hosting at WpEngine https://wpengine.com. Better and faster hosting means better Google rankings and more visitors. At $348.00 a year at WpEngine, I cannot afford to upgrade at this time. I currently pay 70 bucks a year for el cheapo hosting. In the past, this website often crashed on the server.

If you find anything on this site that is a blessing to you, please help support it with a gift. My PayPal account is
[email protected]
When I get enough money, I will move this website to WpEngine. And if you sent me a donation, you will be immediately notified about the upgrade to better hosting. Thank you.


Comments

ASUS MEMO Pad 7 Model ME572C Review — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available